President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. has declared a major disaster in the Commonwealth of Kentucky, authorizing federal assistance to supplement recovery efforts in areas affected by severe storms, straight-line winds, flooding, landslides, and mudslides. The disaster declaration covers the period from February 15 to February 20, 2023.

The declaration enables federal funding on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of damaged facilities in the counties of Bell, Breathitt, Caldwell, Carter, Clay, Elliott, Floyd, Harlan, Hart, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Powell, Whitley, and Wolfe. This assistance will be available to eligible local governments, certain private nonprofit organizations, and the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

Furthermore, federal funding will be accessible on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures across the entire state of Kentucky. These measures aim to reduce the risk and impact of future disasters.

To oversee the federal recovery operations in the affected areas, Ms. Myra M. Shird of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has been appointed as the coordinator.

If requested by the Commonwealth and based on further damage assessments, additional designations may be made at a later date to provide further support and resources.

This declaration underscores the commitment of the federal government to assist the affected communities in Kentucky as they recover from the devastating impacts of the severe storms, winds, flooding, landslides, and mudslides. The federal funding will play a crucial role in supporting the restoration and rebuilding efforts, enabling the affected regions to bounce back stronger and more resilient.

Source: White house briefing-room

By Joshi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *